Kota Ezawa: National Anthem

By Memorial Art Gallery

Wednesday, May 25, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm

+ 10 dates

  • Thursday, May 26, 2022 11:00am to 9:00pm
  • Friday, May 27, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Saturday, May 28, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Sunday, May 29, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 1, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Thursday, June 2, 2022 11:00am to 9:00pm
  • Friday, June 3, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Saturday, June 4, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Sunday, June 5, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 8, 2022 11:00am to 5:00pm

500 University Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607

https://mag.rochester.edu/exhibitions/national-anthem/
View map

Kota Ezawa’s “National Anthem” series includes watercolors, lightboxes, and a single-channel video, all of which depict NFL athletes engaging in peaceful protests against police brutality and the oppression of people of color in the US. The centerpiece of the project, the critically acclaimed video installation National Anthem (2018), features a soundtrack of “The Star-Spangled Banner” while the artist’s distinctive watercolor animation shows players “taking a knee” on the field. 

Included in museum admission.

shown: Kota Ezawa, National Anthem (San Francisco 49ers), 2019

[on loan]

Event Details

User Activity

No recent activity