View map

Hugh Wolff, conductor
Alexi Kenney, violin

BARBER Second Essay
SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No. 2

As the Centennial Season continues, the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra welcomes back three-time Grammy nominee Hugh Wolff, who first led the RPO as guest conductor in a Philharmonics series more than 35 years ago. Wolff’s program includes Brahms’ poetic Second Symphony, as well as Samuel Barber’s Second Essay (which Wolff conducted here in 1987) and Sibelius’ bracing Violin Concerto, featuring soloist Alexi Kenney whose “beautifully phrased and delicate playing…proved impressive for its elegance” (New York Times).

Pre-concert talk will start 1 hour before the show.

Event Details

  • Ruihua Zhou
  • Marc Smith
  • Terry-Ann Suer

3 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity